On Oversharing

I was thinking about this blog and it reminded me of an article I had read a few months ago, this one actually, about children’s privacy online (which by the way, if you haven’t seen ‘BatDad’, it is pretty funny). Before Natalie was even born I started thinking about how I would handle sharing her life and of course, my new life with her in it.  At one point I had accounts on all the social media platforms and I shared quite often, about quite a lot. Early on in my pregnancy, my dads health took a turn for the worse (he passed away in 2012 from Pancreatic Cancer) I started revaluating things and social media and my privacy was one of them.

I deleted accounts, stopped posting so much and really thought about what I would share and what I wouldn’t. I felt this intense need to make my life my own again. Anyone and everyone didn’t need to know about every mundane detail of my life (and I’m sure my Facebook friends were collectively sighing with relief). Now that my daughter is here, the need to keep her privacy safe is even stronger.

Sometimes it’s hard because I see all these adorable photos from Instagram and read these beautiful blog posts littered with smiling children and I think maybe I’m being to uptight about it…maybe sharing our new life so fully isn’t such a bad thing? But the reality is that there is a dark, gloomy side to the internet and not everyone is “good”. The other reality is that she is going to be old enough some day to begin her own presence online and that’s her story to tell. I don’t ever want her to look back on what I said or photos I shared and feel embarrassed or ashamed (i.e. mothers who post potty training photos…I will never understand that). When the time comes, her father and I will guide her and provide her with the knowledge to share safely the best we can but while she’s still so young, that lesson starts with me.

My Facebook account is private, under a made up last name, and my “friends” list paired down so we do share a photo here and there. I said out loud once that I was thinking about taking it down and I almost had a mutiny on my hands by my family who looks forward to those pictures. So I still use it. I don’t have an Instagram account anymore and it’s still up in the air whether I’ll start one again to go with this blog. And Twitter is just too fast paced for me to keep up with.

All of this brings me back to this blog and what I will share here. I am a mom who works full-time trying to juggle everything that makes life beautiful and sometimes frustrating and ugly so naturally I will talk about mommy things. But I will never post anything that I would not want her to read or that she may look back on and find offensive. I have to remember this is her story too.

And on that note, something humorous:

Funny Reminders Ecard: Your constant oversharing on Facebook makes me want to punch you in the face.

 

 

Leave a Reply

