Right Now | Thursday 2.6.14

Reading: I recently picked up “In The Woods” by Tana French from the library. The book takes place in a small Dublin suburb where, in 1989, three children go into the woods to play. Two of them never come home and the third child is found in blood soaked shoes unable to recall anything that happened in the hours leading up to his discovery. Twenty years later, that same boy is now a detective with a different name to try and escape his past. But when a young girl is found murdered in the same grisly location his friends went missing all that time ago, he launches himself on a mission to find answers. I’m about a quarter way into the book now and I’m really enjoying the character development so far. Though the story did start a tad slow for me, it’s starting to pick up and I’m looking for every open second I can find in order to read more. The relationship between the two detectives are very Benson and Stabler-esqe and I could see this as an episode of Law and Order: SVU but I’m hoping it’s a little less predictable and little more dark as I continue to read.

paleo banana bread gluten-free recipe

Eating: THIS Paleo Banana Bread from Elana’s Pantry. It’s amazing and I’ve made it quite a few times before. Yesterday I had the day off with my little because of the snow storm (which was heaven and I wish I could do that a million times over). While she was napping I decided to bake two loaves, one plain and one with dark chocolate chips as a treat. The plain one I give a small slice with some fruit to N for breakfast in the morning and she loves it. I love that there isn’t a cup of sugar in it (just a tbsp. of honey will do ya) and full of protein, fats and fiber from the nuts. It’s great. I used raw almond meal, not blanched like she calls for in all her recipes because that’s what I had. It still came out wonderful but I did end up ordering a 5lb bag of blanched almond meal last night so I could make some plain Paleo bread and other goodies from her site. If you have not tried any of her recipes, get on that right now. Like stop reading, go look her up, and get in the kitchen. She’s that good. I’ve never had one fail and that’s saying a lot because grain-free baking is NOT easy; at least from my experience, I’m definitely no master baker.
Thinking: I wish there was more time in a day. I know I’m still new at this, she’s not even a year yet, so I’m sure I have a while to go before I even come close to mastering some kind of calm in all of this chaos (or maybe I never will). What I need is a good lesson in time management as a working mom. So many nights I come home to rush some kind of meal I call dinner on the table so we can eat together, just to clean her up, let her play for a bit, then it’s bath, story, bed. And don’t even get me started on mornings. It’s such a mess. I need to get back on track with working out, focus on my health and weight, but every time I set the alarm an hour early with plans to workout, she has a rough night of sleep, ends up in our bed and we’re all groaning when the alarm goes off an hour later. Then we spend the next hour rushing to get everyone ready and out there door and I still end up late to work (thank god for a lenient work environment).

Enjoying: N is pulling herself up, standing almost unassisted and it just blows me away. We think she’s going to skip crawling and go right to walking. I’m enjoying every second that goes by with her, she’s changing all the time and I’m constantly in awe of her, of our life. Last night, after her bedtime story she wanted to snuggle in her rocking chair, so I slowly rocked her, whispered to her and sang to her as she drifted to sleep. When her eyes closed I just stared at her in awe and wonder at this little person, soaking in every snuggly moment because I know it won’t last.

Watching: Nothing. Not only is there nothing good on TV right now (I’m patiently waiting for the return of Hannibal), but with the Spring semester under way, I just don’t have time at night to watch anything. I’d rather read a book in bed and I’m finding that far more relaxing right now. In general, we watch far more movies than we do night-time television so we’ve actually been looking into alternatives to cable.

Loving: This blog. So real, so raw, hilarious, and sometimes heartbreaking. Even if I don’t share the same experiences as the women writing, even if my story is different, or the same. There’s always something I take away from it as a mother. A good laugh, or a deep lesson, I just can’t get enough of the writing and I read every single new post.

Note to self: work on taking more photos for the blog!

Leave a Reply

